Our history

 

This is a Norman manoir dating from the XVIII century, situated on a wooded hill overlooking the sea and the Estuary of the Seine.

The Manoir du Butin is located at the foot of the Côte de Grâce. Formerly the Val Chouquet farm, owned by VAUCHOUQUET Michel, an important person in the history of Honfleur, pilot and engineer who built the quays and jetties of Le Havre under François I.

 

 

In this picture, we can see Le Manoir and the new Trouville road built at the end of the XIXth century and which allowed a safe passage even at high tide to the town of Honfleur.

 

 

 

Originally, the Manoir was a private house, the Manoir du Butin ("Boot" eng). An enlargement embellished it in the middle of the XXth century. It was formerly said that on the heights of Grace, facing the sea, the peasants trapped the navigators who thought they recognized the shelter of the harbor and its approaching fires. Their ships fell into disrepair because of the rocks at the foot of the cliffs and the peasants plundered the cargo of the crew. This was their "booty"

During the Second World War, the Germans settled in the area and remained there until the Allies liberated Normandy in June 1944.

 

The "loot" lighthouse built at the beginning of the XXth century replaced the lighthouse of the hospital whose lantern had fallen into disuse. It opened the Estuary to the ships in phase with the lighthouse in Le Havre.

In 1980, the Roland BOELEN family acquired the Manoir, the building was then restored and transformed into a hotel. In December 2010, under the direction of the Bruno BOELEN Family, the Manoir was renamed as Le Manoir des Impressionnistes as a tribute to the Impressionist painters who all planted their easels near the building. On the walls of the dining room, the works of Fernand Herbo, who painted from the Manoir, testify to the Manoir's ties with the Honfleur painters. Fernand Herbo came to dance there on Sunday evenings in the 50s. The lights of the setting sun inspired the Impressionists to create their most luminous skies.

 

 

This ancient washhouse was used by the local people in the XIXth century to wash their clothes, which they then spread in the courtyard.

 

 

In the middle of our park stands a majestic purple beech which is today more than 200 years old.

L'Histoire des Lieux

 

C’est un Manoir Normand du XVIIIe siècle, situé sur une colline boisée surplombant l’Estuaire de la Seine.

Le Manoir du Butin est placé au pied de la Côte de Grâce. Autrefois Ferme du Val Chouquet, qui rappelle un personnage important dans l’histoire du lieu-dit : VAUCHOUQUET Michel, pilote Honfleurais et ingénieur qui construisit les quais et jetées du Havre sous François 1er.

 

 

Sur cette vue, on peut voir Le Manoir et sa nouvelle route de Trouville construite à la fin du 19ème siècle et qui permettait d’abandonner la route des grèves, ou le passage n’était possible qu’à marée basse avec un sable humide, peu propice à l’emploi d’un véhicule.

 

 

 

A l'origine, le Manoir était une maison privée, le Manoir du Butin. Un agrandissement l'a embelli au milieu du XXème siècle. On racontait autrefois que sur les hauteurs de Grâce, face à la mer, les paysans dressaient un piège aux navigateurs qui pensaient reconnaître l'abri du port et ses feux d'approche. Ainsi, leurs navires tombaient en perdition à cause des roches au pied des falaises et les paysans pillaient la cargaison de l'équipage. C'était en sorte leur "butin".

Durant la deuxième guerre mondiale, les Allemands se sont installés dans les lieux et y sont restés jusqu'à la libération de la Normandie par les Alliés en Juin 1944.

 

Le phare dit « du butin » construit au début du XXème siècle, remplaçait le phare de l’hôpital dont la lanterne était tombée en désuétude. Il ouvrait l’Estuaire aux navires en phase avec le phare de la « hève » au Havre.

En 1980, la Famille Rolland BOELEN a acquis le Manoir, la bâtisse a été ensuite restaurée et transformée en hôtel. En décembre 2010, sous la direction de la Famille Bruno BOELEN, le Manoir est rebaptisé Le Manoir des Impressionnistes en hommage aux peintres impressionnistes qui ont tous planté leur chevalet à proximité de la bâtisse. Sur les murs de la salle à manger, les œuvres de Fernand Herbo qui peignait depuis le Manoir, témoignent des liens du Manoir avec les peintres Honfleurais. Fernand Herbo venait y danser, le dimanche soir dans les années 50. Les lumières du soleil couchant ont permis aux Impressionnistes d'y réaliser leurs ciels les plus lumineux.

 

 

Ce lavoir d’époque était utilisé au XIXème siècle par les Honfleurais pour laver leur linge, puis ils l'étendaient dans la cour.

 

 

Au milieu de notre parc se dresse un majestueux hêtre pourpre vieux de plus de 200 ans.